Skip to content

Why “Love is the Slug”?

May 14, 2010

Honestly, it’s not a fan blog. Although I am a fan. But I’ll get to that in a minute. I was wracking my brain coming up with a clever name for this blog and everything felt too obvious. I wanted it to indicate that it would be about pop culture, but not exclusively. I wanted it to indicate that it would also be about other cultures that interest me: queer culture, hair culture, fashion culture, music culture, feminist culture, political culture, comic book culture and any other aspects of culture be they pop(ular) or not. But, like I said, it was all too on the nose. But as I was walking to work a song shuffled its way onto my iPod and the name for my blog revealed itself to me.

“Love is the Slug” is the name of a song by an English band officially named We’ve Got a Fuzzbox and We’re Gonna Use It but shortened simply to Fuzzbox when their music was released in the U.S. They started out as a punk-inspired indie band and dressed in loud, outrageous outfits and had big, crazy, Crayola colored hairdos. They released a bunch of 7″s, EPs and albums in the mid 1980s and then did a sort of startling 180 and turned into a glossy pop act, ceasing to play any instruments or write almost any of their own songs. And while I am not a fan of their work of this era, they kind of perfectly embody aspects of me and my love of pop culture. A ton of music I love has sprung from punk/postpunk/indie/DIY scenes but I’m also a fan shamelessly pop music acts. In fact, Bananarama is a group I’ve loved since childhood (although I am not really a fan of much of their current output – you can’t have Bananarama without Siobhan Fahey, if you ask me) and are rather similar to the kind of act Fuzzbox tried to morph into. And I could expound for quite some time about the way both groups have many parallels, no the least of which is that they’re comprised of all women and have often been looked at dubiously in terms of their talents and musical abilities. But that is a whole other blog post. The song title seemed too perfect for the blog – it’s accurately representative and memorable but not anything that will nail it down or pour it in concrete. That being said, I will strive to keep the focus of this blog on the things mentioned in the first paragraph. Which is actually a lot of variety if you ask me.

In closing, I will leave you with the video of the titular song in question. Revel in the glory of the day-glo production values and over-the-top acting on behalf of the gals of Fuzzbox. And do come back and bring your friends.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 12:52 am

    I totally thought the name was a play on Roxy Music’s Love is a Drug, though come to think of it, do you even like them?

    Thank you for bringing Fuzzbox back to my attention. I haven’t thought about them since my goth years. I should because they’re really fab.

  2. June 19, 2010 9:26 am

    I love Roxy Music! The early stuff especially. And I definitely think that the Fuzzbox song was a play on “Love is the Drug”. I’m just clever enough to copy it. 😉

Leave a Reply

