Skip to content

Thursday Three: It’s in the title.

June 24, 2010

The theme for this week’s Thursday Three is song titles with the word three in them! Quelle originale! But, the number three clearly has some sort of magic to it because songs that contain it as part of the title are just plain fantastic. Witness!

Wire – “Three Girl Rhumba”: The catchiness of this song should almost be illegal. If I allow it onto my iPod and it comes on it totally confiscates my whole life for minutes at a time. I seriously get a minor repetitive stress injury from repeating it so much.

Tony Orlando & Dawn – “Knock Three Times”: I do not even care if anyone thinks this song is cheesy. I think it is pure pop perfection and another sonic ear worm, despite how different it is from the song above. Seriously, just try to get it out of your head.

Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers – “Knock Three Times”: No, seriously, this song is so good I am posting two versions of it. And any version of a song as interpreted by Dolly Parton is pretty much gold. Then you throw in Kenny Rogers and it’s like forget it, this is song magic.

Sinead O’Connor – “Three Babies”: One of the things I liked about a lot of the tracks on I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got is the way Sinead showed how powerful she could still be even when the music was less aggressive.

The Breeders – “Only in 3’s”: This is off of Pod so it is automatically amazing. Can anyone “ohhhh” in the same wonderfully stoned/horny/wistful way that Kim Deal can?I love the counterpoint with Tanya Donnelly’s eerie, angelic tone. A friend of mine was convinced this is a song about threesomes.

Blonde Redhead – “23”: Okay, this might be stretching the rule for this post a little thin but hey, I see a number three as part of the title! And this song is too transcendent and lovely not to post. I love the evolution of Blonde Redhead from a Sonic Youth-esque art-rock band to this more lush, orchestral place they’ve gotten to in their last couple of albums.

Sleater-Kinney – “A Quarter To Three”: This video is pointless but the song is absolutely gorgeous. No one can do a longing ache type of song quite like Corin Tucker. This song makes me feel like I am in a long distance relationship that crosses time zones, missing the one I love and questioning every last little thing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 11:33 am

    I used to think it was Tony, Orlando and Dawn, because there were three people. I love this song so much. It’s hilarious. Also, they have great voices. Cheeky is hard to do, but they managed to do so in the 70s quite frequently.

    @Wire! Ha. I have the same problem. Song should NOT allowed to be that catchy. I love this list!!!

  2. June 24, 2010 1:35 pm

    Also: that Wire song still makes me want to punch Elastica.

  3. July 2, 2010 3:38 am

    Where in the world did you unearth that Tony Orlando & Dawn video? It’s mesmerizing. I can’t take my eyes off of Tony’s plunging neckline!

Trackbacks

  1. Girl Group Sounds Then & Now pt. 1: Then! « Love is the Slug

Leave a Reply

