Skip to content

I highly approve of your Wonder Woman obsession.

July 18, 2010

Wonder Woman & Wonder Girl - TV series version

I recently was friended by a gentleman on Flickr who goes by the username wondersteve1972. I took a quick glance at his photo stream but between work, a dear friend who has been quite ill and trying to blog on a somewhat regular basis, I didn’t get too in depth with my looking. Until tonight. And Hera help me, am I ever glad I did! This guy, this seriously talented, totally obsessed guy has created dozens and dozens of dolls to represent various incarnations of Wonder Woman and her cast of supporting characters – from the comic book and the TV show!! Seriously, check out some of these amazing dolls he’s made! Click all pics to enlarge:

Diana Prince, Wonder Woman, Wonder Girl - TV series version

Wonder Woman vs. Cheetah - comic version

Amazing right? He makes them all from Tonner Dolls, creating all of the costumes and accessories himself! And his work is seriously impressive. The attention to detail from era to era – both within the TV show representations and the comic book depictions – is spot on. Go check out more of them! But the thing that really made my jaw drop to the floor was The Wonder Woman Room. This is a room, I am presuming it’s in his home, where he has displayed his massive array of Wonder Woman collectibles from throughout the decades.

Now I know some people would look at this and think “Dude is totally insane.” And maybe he is. But maybe I am too. Hell, I have her tattooed on my arm several different times. I want to visit this room the way people visit museums. I want to come to it and mediate or pray or just drool with uncontrollable envy. I kind of maybe want to be buried here or have my ashes sprinkled here or something. I have had dreams of a room like this. It puts my own meager Wonder Woman shrine to shame. (And saddens me that I have no room for said meager shrine in my current apartment and that all of my figures are stashed safely in a box.) So call us crazy if you will, but it’s a kind of crazy I can totally get behind. Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to go and visualize a day where I make enough money to have a Wonder Woman room of my very own.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 10:32 am

    I cannot lie. The first thing that came to my mind was Smithers from “The Simpsons” and his Barbie room. I admire the level of dedication, but then I think of all that dusting you have to do.

    • July 18, 2010 10:38 am

      “…but then I think of all that dusting you have to do.”

      Anna, you may have explained in the best, briefest way why I, while admiring and wishing all happiness to those who do, just don’t have obsessions like this.

Leave a comment